Posted by: POWERof52 | March 4, 2013

Act of Kindness #9: The Gift of Tech

KCClogosquare

By: Monika Platek

This week I had the priveledge of being invited to the Cops, Kids and Computers Celebrity Mixer at one of my favourite places, the Hockey Hall of Fame! While I was there, I couldn’t help but be moved by the stories I was hearing from the children in attendance. These kids didn’t have the money or circustances to own a computer, printer, or have access to the internet – until this great program came along. Because technology is such a huge part of who I am, and because it truly fuels me, I felt compelled to help out. I “adopted” a child for a year on this program so that they can have their own laptop, printer, internet, and mentor at their convenience and in the comfort of their homes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

